Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Ode to Laurie : piano and string quartet

by Nadia Burgess (2002, this version: 2016)

Work Overview

"Ode to Laurie" is based on "Lento," the main theme from the Second Movement of "Concerto" for Orchestra dating from 1982 by Laurie Potgieter (1944 - 1995).
"Ode to Laurie" was composed in 2002 for small jazz ensemble.
It was arranged for choir in 2015 and for piano and string quartet in 2016.

Work Details

Year: 2002, this version: 2016

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello, piano.

Duration: 5 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Laurie Potgieter (1944 - 1995)

Commission note: Commissioned by The Odeion String Quartet, South Africa

First performance: by Johan Cromhout, Odeion String Quartet at Composed by Nadia (Lindemann) Burgess (St. Michael's School Chapel (Bloemfontein, South Africa)) on 14 Apr 2016

Art music which includes jazz improvisation


Performances of this work

14 Apr 2016: at Composed by Nadia (Lindemann) Burgess (St. Michael's School Chapel (Bloemfontein, South Africa)). Featuring Johan Cromhout, Odeion String Quartet.

14 Apr 16: Odeion School of Music, University of the Free State, South Africa

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.