Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Reflections (solo piano)

by Bozidar Kos (1976)



Add to cart


Reflections : for piano solo / Bozidar Kos.

Library shelf no. Q 786.2/KOS 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

In my youth I was often fascinated by the Alpine lakes of my native country Slovenia. Standing on their shores I became fascinated by the crystal clear and calm water in which one could see beautifully clear reflections of the surrounding mountains, i.e. their inverted images. The picture would become distorted only by occasional breeze across the lake's surface. This was a beautiful place to be if one wanted to be alone and left to one's thoughts. The peaceful surroundings and the calm water of these lakes often evoked 'reflections' (thoughts) in one's mind.

My work REFLECTIONS for piano consists basically of three types of musical material:

a) sections of extreme mobility with fast, directional lines;

b) static, 'symmetrical' harmonic fields;

c) the main structures and their inverted images - 'reflections'.

Structures from the third category keep reappearing throughout the work, with their shapes undergoing constant modification. These structures are juxtaposed, superimposed and penetrated into each other during the process of composition, however, they always retain their individual characteristics.

Work Details

Year: 1976

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 10 min.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.