Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Mandala 3 (sextets: flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, viola, cello)

by David Lumsdaine (1978)

Mandala 3


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


Mandala 3 / David Lumsdaine.

Library shelf no. Q 785.3416/LUM 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Mandala 3 consists of three parts: Chorus, Sonata, Ruhe sanfte. The Chorus is a somewhat anachronistic transcription of the original Bach for flute, clarinet, viola, cello and piano which gives way to the formal sonata played by the winds and strings. A Chinese temple bell occasionally drifts across the sonata, as does the piano, with fragments of the chorus. In turn, the sonata gives way to Ruhe sanfte. During this last movement, the wind and strings offer quiet reflections to the piano's music and, towards the end, they complete the Bach chorus.

The musical elements, occupying quite different temporal planes and harmonic styles, are apparently very disparate; the new work became another Mandala in so far as it is a meditation on the possibility of discovering a unity at the music's source.

Work Details

Year: 1978

Instrumentation: Piano, flute/alto flute, clarinet in B flat, viola, violoncello, Chinese temple bell.

Duration: 34 min.

Contents note: 1. Transcription of Chorus from St Matthew Passion, no. 78 -- 2. Sonata -- 3. Ruhe sanfte, sanfte ruh' : piano solo with reflections.

Dedication note: "To the memory of Jannice"

First performance: by Gemini Ensemble, Ron Lumsden, Peter Wiegold — 8 Nov 78. Bristol, UK

Performances of this work

8 Nov 78: Bristol, UK. Featuring Gemini Ensemble, Ron Lumsden, Peter Wiegold.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.