Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Sonata no. 2 : for saxophone and piano

by Simon Reade (2009)

Sonata no. 2


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


Sonata no. 2 : for alto saxophone and piano / Simon Reade.

Library shelf no. 788.73/REA 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

This work is composed as a homage to Philip Larkin. Each movement is based on a late poem of Larkin, as well as on a number of my earlier works.

Work Details

Year: 2009

Instrumentation: Saxophone, piano.

Duration: 17 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — First movement is in extreme high register. It has also been transcribed for soprano saxophone to make this movement more approachable

Contents note: I. Aubade, 1977 -- II. Fantaisies symphoniques -- III. 'Morning at last...' 1976.

Commission note: Commissioned by Jabra Latham.

First performance: by Jabra Latham, Karen Smithies at Concert in St George's (St George's Anglican Church, Battery Point) on 15 Nov 2009


Sonata no. 2


Performances of this work

28 Jun 2016: at Meditation (Conservatorium Recital Hall, University of Tasmania). Featuring Benjamin Price, Michael Kieran Harvey.

17 Oct 15: The Void, MONA. Featuring Jen Yu, Benjamin Price.

20 Feb 15: Tasmanian Composers Festival, Rosny Barn, Clarence, Tasmania. Featuring Jen Yu, Benjamin Price.

13 Jul 13: Australasian Saxophone & Clarinet Conference, Sydney Conservatorium. Featuring Benjamin Price.

15 Nov 2009: at Concert in St George's (St George's Anglican Church, Battery Point). Featuring Jabra Latham, Karen Smithies.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.