Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Constantine Koukias : Represented Artist

Photo of Constantine Koukias

Constantine Koukias is a Tasmanian composer and opera director of Greek ancestry based in Amsterdam.

His avant-garde approach to the presentation of opera has resulted in hybrid productions such as Days and Nights with Christ, To Traverse Water, MIKROVION (Small Life - 36 Images in a Phantom Flux of Life), The Divine Kiss, Tesla - Lightning in His Hand and most recently The Barbarians, inspired by Constantine Cavafy's famous poem 'Waiting for the Barbarians', and commissioned by the Museum of Old & New Art.

His works range from large-scale music theatre and opera to mobile installation art events. His compositions have been always remarkable for their characteristic, mesmerising and atmospheric qualities created by temporal, spatial and production designs. In his recent works, exotic flavours have been introduced through Eastern timbres and melody-design.

In 1993 he was commissioned by the Sydney Opera House Trust to compose ICON, a large-scale music theatre piece to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Sydney Opera House. Music theatre works include Kimisis - Falling Asleep, Borders, Orfeo, Rapture - Sonic Taxi Performance, Schwa - The Neutral Vowel, Antigone and The Da Ponte Project. Prayer Bells, which draws on traditions of Latin, Hebrew and Byzantine chant, had its USA premiere at the Chicago Cultural Centre.

In 2004 he was awarded a Sir Winston Churchill Fellowship. His Incantation II for soprano and digital delay won the International Valentino Bucchi Vocal Prize in Rome in 1997. His design credits include the internationally acclaimed Odyssey and Medea.

In 2014, Kimisis - Falling Asleep, a chamber opera for soprano & electric trombone had its Netherlands premiere at Splendor Amsterdam and toured to the Karavaan Festival. In December Before the Flame Goes Out premiered at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam.

In 2017-18 Koukias is preparing two major new works, The Boy Who Fell Out of The Sky - concerto for Ondes Martenot, and Shaped by Trees - a film opera with librettist by Biasino Pezzimenti.

Konstantin Koukias — current to December 2016

Analysis & Media

- Video: The Barbarians (excerpts)