Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Composition Opportunity

The 10th Álvarez Chamber Orchestra composers' competition

  • Deadline date: 30 Sep 2020 [Delivery Deadline] — Visit our current Opportunities for upcoming competitions, workshops and more.
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Total prizes: GBP 1,500 and possible performance
  • Entry fee: GBP 26 per entry


Further Details

Compose or submit an original work of any duration and scale, from a solo piece to chamber orchestra*.

First prize - GBP 1,000.

The Mullord Award - GBP 500.

Closing date: September 30th, 2020.

For the tenth occasion, the Álvarez Chamber Orchestra (ÁCO) is inviting composers of any age and nationality to submit works for an annual composition competition.

  • There is no specification as to the length or nature of the work.
  • If electronics are used, if not notated conventionally and fully in the score, a CD or mp3 should be supplied.
  • A recording of the work should also be submitted if the score is notated graphically or in any other unconventional format.
  • There is no restriction on the number of works submitted by each composer but each piece will incur the same entry fee of GBP 26.
  • The work may be a new piece or may have been written at any time in the composer’s career.
  • Each piece should have only its title printed on the cover: the identity of the composer, including address, email, phone number, biography, photograph and programme notes should be placed in a separate sealed envelope also marked with the same title.
  • All scores must be submitted electronically as pdf files to the address of the competition administrator, Trevor Huntley: trevor.huntley@btinternet.com .
  • The electronic version of the score should have only its title displayed on the front page and there should be no mention of the composer's name or include any markings by which the composer could be identified.
  • A second and separate email should be sent at the same time as the score submission and this should include the identity of the composer, their address, email, contact telephone number, short biography, photograph and programme notes. No hard copies of scores will be accepted.
  • Composers submitting their scores via a link on a file sharing site such as Dropbox should ensure the files remain uploaded until receipt of the written adjudication following the conclusion of the competition. All entries that the ACO receives will be acknowledged prior to adjudication. Composers will be notified if any files of an electronic submission are corrupt or missing. It is the responsibility of the composer to provide the ACO with pdf files that can be opened. If the composer is unable to supply the requested downloadable and readable files within the time limits detailed above, the entry will be deemed disqualified.
  • Please contact the adminstrator, Tevor Huntly for further clarification.

The maximum* size of the orchestra is as follows:

2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo);
2 oboes (2nd doubling cor anglais);
2 clarinets (2nd doubling bass clarinet);
2 bassoons (2nd doublng contrabassoon);
2 horns;
timpani (doubling second percussionist);
percussion (one player);
any keyboard;
8 violins;
4 violas;
4 cellos;
2 double bass.

Minimum specification is a single performer.

In addition to the prizes, there is the possibility of a performance by the Álvarez Chamber Orchestra at a future season.

The main reason for entering the Competition each year is the excellent and detailed feed-back one gets afterwards. Recently I had a request to perform the Song Cycle I had entered for ‘Going for a Song 2011’. I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience of trying out (and adopting) the suggestions made by the judging panel. Song Cycle ‘Seagull’ will be performed by Karen Harries – soprano and the Wymondham Symphony Orchestra on 5th July 2014 – the 30th anniversary concert for the orchestra in Wymondham Abbey Norfolk. Thank you judging panel – long may the encouragement you are giving composers continue!

Kenneth Ian Hÿtch FTCL, ISM President (2009/10).

The entry fee is GBP 26 per work. Payments details can be found on the competition website.

The adjudicators will include some of the following:

David Collins Composer: D. Phil. University of York;
Linda Hirst: Professor of Vocal Studies, Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance;
Silvina Milstein: Professor of Composition and Analysis, University of Cambridge and King's College, London;
Edwin Roxburgh: Composer and conductor: awarded the Cobbett Medal for Services to Music. Formerly Professor at the Royal College of Music and Birmingham Conservatoire;
Giles Swayne: Composer in Residence, Clare College, Cambridge;
Richard Stoker: Formerly Professor at the Royal Academy of Music;
Robert Walker: Composer, Formerly BBC Broadcaster, Professor Silpakorn University' Bangkok;
Geoffrey Álvarez: Composer, Conductor, The Álvarez Chamber Orchestra.

The competition will be administered by ÁCO treasurer Trevor Huntley, and secretary Phillip Costen.

The decision of the jury will be final and binding.

All competitors whose entries comply with the competition regulations will receive a brief comment about their work based on the jury's assessment.

All printed submissions will be returned.

The jury reserve the right not to award a prize if the submissions are not of sufficient quality.

Website: http://www.fiveseasonsmusic.co.uk/pleaseyourself.htm


Contact: Tevor Huntly, The Álvarez Chamber Orchestra

Mailing Address: 5 Rensburg Road London E17 7HL, United Kingdom

Opportunities Listing Home