Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Oboe Concerto : Neon Highway

by Luke Styles (2019)

Also known as: Neon Highway

Oboe Concerto


Add to cart


Oboe Concerto : Neon Highway / Luke Styles.

Library shelf no. 785.5219/STY 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

In three movements this concerto encompasses a specific range of oboe material and musical qualities. These are broadly divided into fast music in movements I. and II. and slow music in movement III. In the two outer movements the oboe delves into its melodic and vocal qualities with other individual instruments joining in this form of expression also. In the central movement a move overtly rhythmic drive dominates, hinting at Spanish influences but eventually transforming into large blocks of harmonic information set against the oboe's melodic and angular solo lines.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: Solo oboe, flute/piccolo, clarinet in Bb/bass clarinet, bassoon, horn in F, tenor trombone, percussion (1 player: ratchet, 1 wood block, tambourine, bongos, cymbal, low tom-tom), 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass.

Duration: 18 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Benjamin Opie

Commission note: Commissioned by Timothy Phillips, Benjamin Opie, Red Note Ensemble with funds provided by Australia Council.. Commissioned by an anonymous donor, Red Note Sound Festival.

First performance: by Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Benjamin Opie at Arcko Symphonic Ensemble: Neon Highway (St Stephen's Anglican Church, Richmond) on 25 Oct 2019


Performances of this work

24 Jan 20: Espacio Turina, Sevilla, Spain. Featuring Sarah Roper, Taller Sonoro (ensemble).

1 Nov 19: Sound Festival, Aberdeen, Scotland. Featuring Nicholas Daniel, Red Note Ensemble.

25 Oct 2019: at Arcko Symphonic Ensemble: Neon Highway (St Stephen's Anglican Church, Richmond). Featuring Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Benjamin Opie.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.