Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Spring music : Piano sonata no. 2

by Andrew Batterham (2014)

Also known as: Piano sonata no. 2

Spring music


Add to cart


Spring music : Piano sonata no. 2 / Andrew Batterham.

Library shelf no. 786.2/BAT 2 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Spring Music is the second of four planned piano sonatas, each depicting one of the four seasons. This sonata takes inspiration from Indigenous interpretations of the spring seasons, incorporating Woi-wurrung words in movement titles and aspects of Wurundjeri culture. It is not meant to depict the sound of Indigenous music - it is written purely in the composer's own musical idiom, as a response to local culture. The second and third movements incorporate songlines, used by the Kulin people as morality tales, or as geographical reminders of the way to the next campsite.

The composer wishes to acknowledge the Victorian Aboriginal Corporation for Languages, and the Wurundjeri Tribe Land and Compensation Cultural Heritage Council for their advice on matters involving Woi-wurrung words and the Wurundjeri culture.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 25 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Natasha Lin with funds provided by Australia Council. Music Board.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.