Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Let's dance (solo piano)

by Betty Beath (2001, this version: 2005)



Add to cart


Encounters : let's dance, [for] piano / Betty Beath.

Library shelf no. 786.2/BEA 14 [Available for loan]

Let's dance


Add to cart


Let's dance : an encounter for tenor recorder and guitar / Betty Beath.

Version: This product features the Duos: Recorder, guitar version of this work

Library shelf no. 785.4412/BEA 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Let's Dance is the third in a collection of four pieces for solo piano which I've titled Encounters and which reflects the meeting of equal partners in musical dialogue, often singing together, tenderly at times and at others with frenetic energy. The pieces may be performed separately as solo items or as a collection whose duration is approximately 10 minutes.

I enjoyed writing the collection. The musical landscape is one of contrast though there is unity in style; in each of the pieces dynamic colour, warmth and depth of tone, as well as sensitivity to line, are important.

I think of Let's Dance as a quirky little flirtation and I hope both the performer and the listener may enjoy the dialogue set up between the hands; harmonies are both sweet and sour.

Work Details

Year: 2001, this version: 2005

Instrumentation: Solo piano.

Duration: 3 min.

Difficulty: Medium — 7th Grade AMEB - professional.

Contents note: Let's Dance is the third in a collection of four pieces titled Encounters. The other three pieces are titled Jasmine, With a Whirlwind and A Loving Embrace.

Commission note: Written for my own pleasure and performance.

A 'quirky' little piece. The performer may enjoy the dialogue set up between the hands. The harmonies are both sweet and sour.

Performances of this work

Sep 07: National Council of Women of Queensland function, Parliament House, Brisbane.. Featuring Betty Beath.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.