Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Concerto for Trumpet and Strings (trumpet with string orchestra)

by John Nottle (2017)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

The Concerto for Trumpet and Strings is a 3 movement work. Each movement explores various aspects of trumpet technique. The slow movement could be played on Flugel Horn.

Work Details

Year: 2017

Instrumentation: Trumpet, string orchestra.

Duration: 16 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Professor Anna Freeman, Cologne University

The composer notes:
The 1st movement explores the hexachord, or 6-note scale. Beginning as a G harmonic minor scale in the strings brief introduction, the hexachord is then established at the soloists first entry. The 2nd movement features a muted solo trumpet over a lush string accompaniment, and introduces the octatonic scale midway through the movement. The last movement is in ternary form, with an extended coda. The movement begins in G major, but after a few bars establishes G melodic minor. The octatonic scale is once again briefly explored. And the extended coda utilises the whole tone scale. The work ends in E flat major.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.