Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Spirals : percussion quartet

by Michael Askill (2001)



This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Work Overview

Much of the inspiration for Spirals comes from 'The Power of Limits: Proportional Harmonies in Nature, Art and Architecture' by the Hungarian architect Gyorgy Doczi (Boulder, 1981).

Spirals is constructed using numbers of the so-called summation series, in which each number is the sum of the two previous ones: 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13 etc. This is the famous Fibonacci series, after the nickname of Leonardo of Pisa (12th century).

While much of spirals uses a simple Layering of rhythms created using the Fibonacci series, the rhythms in 3: outward spiral (part 2) evolve into longer and longer patterns which theoretically, - like the Fibonacci series - could go on forever.

The spoken text used in 2: inward spiral is from 'Mr Palomar' by Italo Calvino, whose work I return to often and find constantly fascinating:

"If time has to end, it can be described, instant by instant, and each instant, when described, expands so that its end can no longer be seen."

Work Details

Year: 2001

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.