Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String Quartet #2: Fede (Faith) : string quartet

by Michael Grebla (2019)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

"Fede" is Italian for "Faith". I was initially reluctant to title this work as I felt its nature to be fairly self-evident upon listening; or at least, I was hoping for the work's significance to be determined by the listener's experience, rather than a title. From an abstract perspective, however, this work might be considered an expression of faith (though not necessarily in the religious sense) set against grief, isolation and healing.

The majority of the melodic content in the work is created through the lyrical use of natural harmonics. These define very fragile, ethereal gestures in certain sections - sections which are then developed and contrasted with more strained vibrato in fully-stopped passages. Throughout the work, the quartet always remains muted, even in the various extremes of register, creating a more sombre and at times strained quality - a concept of struggle hushed by inevitability.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Angela Roberts

Commission note: Commissioned by Consortium and the Atlantic Music Festival for the Atlantic Music Festival Contemporary Ensemble.

Prizes/Awards: 2022 *Runner-up/Finalist Red Jasper Award in Music Composition 2021 *Honorable Mention from Thailand Music and Arts Organization New Music Symposium Call for Scores 2020 *Winner of 'Music Now' Call for Scores competition for Indiana State University Music Now Festival. *Winner of Deus Ex Musica Call for Scores competition. *Semifinalist of Kaleidoscope Call for Scores *Finalist of Keene State College International Call for Scores

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.