Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

16 November 2021

2021 Albert H Maggs Award to Anne Cawrse

Anne Cawrse Image: Anne Cawrse  

Anne Cawrse has been announced as winner of the 2021 Albert H Maggs Composition Award for her work A Room Of Her Own (2020) for string quartet. This Award is provided as a commission ($15,000) for an Australian composer to create a new musical work of a substantial nature.

The judging panel commented, 'A Room Of Her Own showed excellent quartet writing and is innovative in its use of the ensemble with a convincing narrative. The work demonstrated not only a high level of technical compositional skill but also the ability to balance and judge structure - especially over long durations. It clearly displayed a very strong understanding of how to create and utilise a wide variety of instrumental textures. The panel commends Anne Cawrse on her fine achievement and looks forward to seeing and hearing the work she will write in fulfilment of the Award commission'.

Listen to the Australian String Quartet's performance of Cawrse's work on YouTube.

A Room of Her Own was also the winning work in the 2021 Art Music Awards category Work of the Year: Chamber Music.

> Anne Cawrse - AMC profile

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.