Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Aiko Goto & Satsuki Odamura


Aiko Goto & Satsuki Odamura

  • Date: Monday, 28 July 2014, 7.30pm
  • Venue: Delmar Gallery, Trinity Grammar School (Ashfield) — 144 Victoria Street, Ashfield, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: $30.00 | Children: $20.00 | Concession: $20.00 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 0295 816 070

Event Details

Violinist Aiko Goto and koto master Satsuki Odamura are two extraordinary musicians and mentors. For this rare collaboration they will present a superb programme of Eastern and Western classical music, including Bach's Solo Sonata for Violin No. 2 in A minor, Yatsuhashi’s Six Variations, Fujeida's Patterns of Plants and a piece written for Odamura by the Australian composer Linsey Pollak, Pretang and Tang.

Aiko Goto was born in Japan and began studying the violin at the age of three through The Suzuki Method. The great niece of Dr. Suzuki, she grew up in Tokyo and graduated from the Toho Gakuen School of Music, followed by studies at the renowned Juilliard School of Music. In 1995 she made her New York debut at the Carnegie Weil Recital Hall, receiving the highest critical acclaim. She has been a member of the Australian Chamber Orchestra since 1999 and a mentor for the ACO’s Emerging Artists Program and ACO2 since its inception in 2005. Aiko enjoys teaching and sharing her love of music with young musicians, and has directed the ACO Academy programme since 2012. Satsuki Odamura is a leading exponent and pioneering teacher of the koto in Australia. She trained under Tadao and Kazue Sawai in Tokyo and moved to Sydney in 1988 where she set up the Australian branch of the Sawai International Koto School. Satsuki has worked with a number of musicians from other genres, including jazz, classical and other styles, and also heads her own koto ensemble which has performed widely in Australia and overseas. She has inspired numerous Australian composers to write for her instrument, such as Peter Sculthorpe, Carl Vine, Mark Isaacs and Linsey Pollak.

The concert will be preceded at 7.15pm by performance by Trinity’s very talented Middle School Quartet. They will perform the Allegro and Vivace Assai from Haydn’s String Quartet in D Minor.

Featured non-Australian music: Hikaru Sawai "Dosei for Koto and Violin; Fujieda "Patterns of Plants"; JS Bach "Solo Sonata for Violin No. 2 in A minor"; Yatsuhashi "Six Variations"; Fujeida "Patterns of Plants"

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0295 816 070 or by email to delmargallery@trinity.nsw.edu.au

Featured Australian Works

 Pretang and Tang by Linsey Pollak

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login