Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

At the Eleventh Hour : Commemorating 100 years since the end of World War I


At the Eleventh Hour : Commemorating 100 years since the end of World War I

  • Date: Sunday, 11 November 2018, 2pm
  • Venue: Verbrugghen Hall — Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Cnr Macquarie St and Bridge St, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: Adult: $39 | Concession: $25 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 9250 7777

Event Details

On the centenary of Armistice Day, the Sydney Symphony Fellows and the Sydney Conservatorium of Music present a program of works by composers from major powers of World War I, each touched by the war in their own way.

Rudi Stephan’s Music for 7 String Instruments is a work of young genius, full of drama and passion, completed just a few years before his death on the Galician front in 1915 aged 28. Edgar Bainton’s Three Pieces for Orchestra were written during his internment at Rehleben for the duration of World War I. After the war he went on to become Head of the Sydney Conservatorium and a major figure in Australian musical life. George Butterworth died in the Battle of the Somme in 1916, aged 31. Ravel served as a driver on the Verdun front, and his Tombeau de Couperin was dedicated to friends lost in the war. Myaskovsky was wounded and suffered shell shock on the Austrian front and completed his Two Pieces for String Orchestra years later in a politically turbulent Russia. Elgar’s gorgeous Sospiri (“Sighs”) was written as storm clouds gathered in 1914.

Presented in association with the Sydney Conservatorium of Music.


STEPHAN arr. Lessing Music for 7 String Instruments
BAINTON Three Pieces for orchestra
BUTTERWORTH The Banks of Green Willow
RAVEL Le Tombeau de Couperin
MYASKOVSKY Two Pieces for string orchestra
ELGAR Sospiri

Featured non-Australian music: Stephan, Butterworth, Ravel, Myaskovsky, Elgar

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Three pieces for orchestra : full orchestra (1918) by Edgar Bainton
— performed by Roger Benedict, Sydney Conservatorium Symphony Orchestra and Sydney Symphony Fellows

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login