Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Australian Youth Orchestra in Concert


Australian Youth Orchestra in Concert

  • Date: Thursday, 15 December 2022, 7.30pm
  • Venue: Melbourne Town Hall — 120 Swanston St, Melbourne, VIC
  • Tickets: Adults: 25 | Children: 25 | Concession: 25 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 0293 561 400

Event Details

The Australian Youth Orchestra presents its final performance of 2022 at the iconic Melbourne Town Hall. Don’t miss the country’s best young talent as they explore a melting pot of orchestral works under the masterful baton of conductor Matthew Coorey. Headlining the program will be Saint-Saëns’ beloved Cello Concerto featuring principal cellist of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra and AYO alumnus Pei-Sian Ng. The orchestra is also thrilled to present the world premiere of Andrew Ford’s The Meaning of Trees. Commissioned by AYO in 2020, this work captures Ford’s response to the changes in our climate, and offers feelings of hope and solidarity in the face of this global phenomenon. The program will be rounded out with Stravinsky’s spectacular The Firebird: Suite. Based on a collection of Russian folk stories, The Firebird was written in collaboration with Paris-based Ballet Russes, and has become one of Stravinsky’s most popular works. Experience the infectious energy of the Australian Youth Orchestra as they present this exciting showcase of orchestral music. All tickets $25. EVENT INFORMATION Melbourne Town Hall Thursday 15 December, 7.30pm SAINT-SAËNS Cello Concerto No.1 Pei-Sian Ng, cello FORD The Meaning of Trees (World Premiere) STRAVINSKY The Firebird: Suite (1911) Duration: 90min including interval

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0293 561 400 or by email to info@ayo.com.au

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login