Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

AYO & Westlake's The Glass Soldier


AYO & Westlake's The Glass Soldier

  • Date: Tuesday, 19 February 2013, 8.00 PM
  • Venue: Melbourne Town Hall — 120 Swanston St, Melbourne, VIC
  • Tickets: Adults: $42 | Children: $28 | Concession: $28 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 136100

Event Details

The Australian Youth Orchestra will give the world premiere concert performance of Australian composer Nigel Westlake’s The Glass Soldier. The Glass Soldier is an orchestral suite of astonishing power and integrity. It was commissioned by Don Farrands in memory of his grandfather Nelson H. Ferguson who served in France as a Field Ambulance Officer in World War I. This is the first time that the complete suite of five movements will be played. The orchestra, totalling 79 musicians (29 heralding from Victoria), will perform under Music Director and Chief Conductor of the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Arvo Volmer.

Westlake looks forward to hearing his work performed in full, “I think of it like a film score - an epic love story, steeped in pathos, drama, tragedy and triumph against adversity, set against the backdrop of World War I. Having played in the Australian Youth Orchestra myself many years ago, I feel a special affinity with these young musicians. I can’t wait to hear this music finally brought to life by the youthful vitality and consummate musicianship of the AYO under Maestro Volmer.”

Also on the evening’s program is Stravinsky’s The Firebird: Suite (1919), Ravel’s Mother Goose: Suite and Ravel’s Piano Concerto for Left Hand. Leading Melbourne-based pianist, Kristian Chong will perform Ravel’s 18-minute concerto. The piece, with its jazz-influenced rhythms and harmonies, is a testament to virtuosity and brilliance.

Considered to possess the finest classical musicians of the next generation, the Australian Youth Orchestra celebrates its 65th Anniversary this year. The AYO will embark on its 21st international tour under the great German conductor, Christoph Eschenbach and perform alongside Grammy Award-winning violin soloist, Joshua Bell.

Featured non-Australian music: RAVEL Piano Concerto for the Left Hand - RAVEL Mother Goose: Suite - STRAVINSKY The Firebird: Suite (1919)

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 9252 3855 or by email to info@ayo.com.au

Featured Australian Works

The glass soldier : an orchestral suite in 5 movements (2007) by Nigel Westlake — World premiere
— performed by Arvo Volmer and Australian Youth Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login