Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Black City


Black City

  • Date: Sunday, 6 March 2016, 7:30pm
  • Venue: Comstock Hall, University of Louisville School of Music — Louisville, Kentucky, United States

Event Details

The world premiere of Douglas Knehans's Black City: Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra No. 2, featuring virtuoso cello soloist Paul York and the brilliant University of Louisville Symphony Orchestra conducted by Maestra Kimcherie Lloyd.

The work is based on the evocative and deep poems of the master poet Dave Lucas. Each of the five movements of this work is based on one of Lucas' poems:

1. Letter ot a Friend
2. River on Fire
3. It Will Be Rain Tonight
4. You Asked What the Heart Can Carry
5. Midst of a Burning Fiery Furnace

The work is a massive and bold, yet intimate and expressive work of around 45 minutes in duration—a real experience musically, poetically and emotionally for the musicans and the audience.

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login