Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

Bourbaki Ensemble : 'War and Peace' - music for strings"


Bourbaki Ensemble : 'War and Peace' - music for strings"

  • Date: Sunday, 3 April 2011, 2:30 pm
  • Venue: St Stephen's Church, Newtown — 189 Church St, Newtown, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: $25 | Children: $15 | Concession: $15 — Tickets can be purchased by phone on 0433 074 322

Event Details

The first Bourbaki Ensemble concert for 2011 features the premiere performance of Melbourne composer David Keeffe's newly written concerto for saxophone and orchestra. Each of its four movements bears a title taken from the World War I poetry of Wilfred Owen; the mood of the poems is expressed in sounds which are often sparse and fragile, with soloist and strings being joined by the percussive textures of timpani and piano.

We are delighted to welcome back Jason Xanthoudakis for his first performance with Bourbaki since 2007. Pavel Haas's Study for String Orchestra was composed during the World War II in the Nazi concentration camp of Theresienstadt. It is astonishing that a composer could have written anything at all under such conditions, let alone a vital and energetic movement such as this.

Ernest Bloch's Concerto Grosso was written between the wars and consists of two strongly marked and rhythmic outer movements which frame two more lyrical ones. A complete contrast is provided by Johanna Selleck's Tapestry II: Mellow, written as a result of the composer's receiving the Albert H. Maggs Composition Award in 2006.

Performers: The Bourbaki Ensemble David Angell, conductor Jason Xanthoudakis, saxophone

Featured non-Australian music: Haas, Study for Strings; Bloch, Concerto Grosso No.1

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0433 074 322 or by email to david.355.113@gmail.com

Featured Australian Works

Four Tapestries : string orchestra [Tapestry II 'Mellow'] by Johanna Selleck
— performed by Bourbaki Ensemble
 The Undone Years, for saxophone and orchestra by David Keeffe — World premiere

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login