Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

collected stories: (post)folk


collected stories: (post)folk

  • Date: Sunday, 27 April 2014, 6pm
  • Venue: Carnegie Zankel — 57th Street and Seventh Avenue, New York City, United States
  • Tickets: Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

Hailed as “one of the most vital and original ensembles on the American music scene” (The New York Times), Alarm Will Sound and its fearless artistic director Alan Pierson uncover how composers utilise musical language to underscore factual and fictional history. The group performs Donnacha Dennehy’s Grá agus Bás, which weaves traditional Irish music into contemporary forms to address the ebb of ancient morphing into the present. The program also includes the US premiere of Richard Ayres No. 42 In the Alps, incorporating yodeling and other folk idioms to articulate the tale of a young plane crash survivor, portrayed by the haunting Kiera Duffy, as well as the world premieres of commissions by Australian composer Kate Moore and avant-garde virtuoso guitarist Kaki King.

Featured non-Australian music: Kaki King, Donnacha Dennehy, Richard Ayres

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

The art of levitation (2013) by Kate Moore — World premiere
— performed by Alarm Will Sound

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login