Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Continuum Sax : Winterscenario


Continuum Sax : Winterscenario

  • Date: Saturday, 31 October 2009, 7:00pm
  • Venue: Recital Hall East — Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Cnr Macquarie St and Bridge St, Sydney, NSW
  • Series: This event is part of the New Music Network 2009 series
  • Tickets: $30/$20 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 8256 2222

Event Details

The live audio-visual collaboration between VJ/filmmaker Rachel Brown and Continuum saxophone quartet is inspired by Jacob TV’s Postnuclear Winterscenario No.10 – a bleakly beautiful sonic portrait of a hypothetical reality. Continuum splays the atmosphere with chords, while Brown uses Ms Pinky software to create a parallel universe of images reflecting suspended life and the cold beauty that winter delivers: seasonal or not. Music by Mark Anthony Turnage, Christian Lauba, Elena Firsova and Tony Gorman continue the theme of 'Winterscenario', reflecting landscape, memory, distance and light.

For the balance of the concert Continuum presents the world premiere of Damien Ricketson’s first saxophone quartet; and the Australian premiere of the spectralist composer Hugues Dufourt’s Quatuor pour saxophones.

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login