Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and wearing a mask, and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

Digital Debussy


Digital Debussy

  • Date: Saturday, 22 May 2021, 3pm
  • Venue: Holy Trinity Anglican Church (Fortitude Valley) — Brookes St, Fortitude Valley, QLD
  • Tickets: Adults: 45 | Children: 15 | Concession: 35 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 0451 929 683

Event Details

In a recital of tranquil dreams, pastoral scenes and fragmented recollections, the sumptuous combination of flute, viola and harp unites three exciting, young soloists – Emily Granger, Jonathan Henderson and James Wannan. Imbued with flickers of light, Debussy’s second sonata is told in a fragrant language of ambiguity and fleeting suggestion. In a masterful display of timbral manipulation, Japanese composer Tōru Takemitsu pays homage to Debussy with his own trio And then I knew 'twas Wind – a musical depiction of the human subconscious played out across interconnected musical episodes. Featuring a special commissioned work by Sydney-based composer Tristan Coelho, the intriguing addition of live electronics expands the scope of this unique instrumental combination, awakening us from a fantasy dreamscape into a digital reality.

Performers: Jonathan Henderson, flute; James Wannan, viola; Emily Granger, harp; Tristan Coelho, electronics

Featured non-Australian music: Claude Debussy - Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp. Tōru Takemitsu - And Then I Knew ‘Twas Wind.

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login