Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and wearing a mask, and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

Gut Strings - Tognetti & ACO soloists: Kats-Chernin


Gut Strings - Tognetti & ACO soloists: Kats-Chernin

  • Date: Sunday, 16 October 2016, 2pm
  • Venue: Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall — Bennelong Point, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: Standard: $54 - $149 | Concession: $46 - $127 | Under 30: $49 (booking fees apply) — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 9250 7777

Event Details

Relish the melodic invention and dynamic flow of two of the Baroque’s finest composers with the ACO, directed by Richard Tognetti.

Bach’s Orchestral Suites propose a vibrant reminder of the beauty and influence of these ever-appealing dance compositions. The deeply felt Sarabande of the B minor Suite is deftly resolved by the joyous Badinerie.

Two Vivaldi works offer a springboard for the ACO’s violins and cello to take energetic flight, with inventive and eloquent results.

Beckoning us to the present, Elena Kats-Chernin’s Miniatures for Strings embrace a host of influences, each with its own infectious personality and compelling story, and all composed especially for the great musicians and string instruments of the ACO: Richard Tognetti’s 1743 Guarneri del Gesù violin; Satu Vänskä’s 1728/1729 Stradivarius; the 1610 Giovanni Paolo Maggini viola; and Maxime Bibeau’s c.1590 Gasparo da Salò double bass.


BACH Orchestral Suite No.1 in C major
VIVALDI Concerto for two violins and cello in D minor
ELENA KATS-CHERNIN Singing Trees (World Premiere)
VIVALDI Concerto for four violins and cello in D major, RV549
BACH Orchestral Suite No.2 in B minor

Featured non-Australian music: Bach, Vivaldi

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 9250 7777 or by email to infodesk@sydneyoperahouse.com

Featured Australian Works

Singing Trees (string orchestra with multiple soloists) (2016) by Elena Kats-Chernin — World premiere
— performed by Australian Chamber Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login