Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Liquid Architecture 14: Sonic City


Liquid Architecture 14: Sonic City

  • Date: Thursday, 29 August 2013 to Saturday, 14 September 2013
  • Venue: Various venues in Melbourne — Melbourne, VIC
  • Tickets: Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

Curated by Dr Kristen Sharp and Dr Philip Samartzis, Sonic City creates new encounters with urban sites through contemporary artworks that respond to the acoustic and physical environments of the city. When Luigi Russolo recommended that we traverse a modern city with “our ears more alert than our eyes” in 1913, he introduced incidental noise into the lexicon of art. One hundred years on, the sound of the city remains a key preoccupation for contemporary artists. Developments in the built environment, social structures and everyday technologies of transport and communication provide dynamic sites for artists to explore different acoustic and visual perspectives.

Program Description: The Sonic City program presents new and commissioned works from established and emerging artists and groups from Australia and Japan. Sonic City is designed to challenge perspectives of Melbourne within the prism of rapidly transforming urbanism and propositions artists to re-imagine Tokyo and Melbourne and activate a dialogue between them. Major international presentations include Haco and Toshiya Tsunoda's Tram Vibrations project, amplifying inaudible sounds of urban transportation, and the acclaimed Francisco López's celebration of cityscapes in Sonopolis.

Artists: Australia: Jeremy Bakker, Atticus Bastow, Philip Brophy, Nigel Brown, Camilla Hannan, Eamon Sprod, Catherine Clover, Rod Cooper, Madelynne Cornish, Sarah Edwards, Jordan Lacey, Noise Flash, Overtone Ensemble, Eliot Palmer and Garth Sheridan, Michael Pulsford, Matthew Sleeth, Joe Talia and Darrin Verhagen. International: Barbara Ellison (Ireland), Pierre Henry (France), Haco (Japan), Francisco López (Spain), Eva-Maria Raab (Austria), Toshiya Tsunoda (Japan), Ami Yamasaki (Japan) and Kent Macpherson and Luke McConnell (New Zealand).

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by email to larchweb@gmail.com

Featured Australian Works

 Audiokinetic Jukebox by Darrin Verhagen
 B is for Bird, C is for City by Catherine Clover
 Swarm and Murmuration by Atticus Bastow

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login