Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra


Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra

  • Date: Sunday, 29 August 2021, 4pm
  • Venue: Lucerne Hall, Lucerne Culture and Congress Centre (KKL) — Europaplatz 1, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
  • Tickets: sold out

Event Details

Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO)  
Lin Liao conductor (Milenko)
Johanna Malangré conductor (Vaughan)
Heinz Holliger, conductor
Felix Renggli,  flute

Kirsten Milenko (*1993) Traho for orchestra
Roche Young Commissions world premiere

Alex Vaughan (*1987) Logos for orchestra
Roche Young Commissions world premiere

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Masonic Funeral Music in C minor, K. 477 (479a)

Heinz Holliger (*1939)
Ostinato funebre for small orchestra
Turm-Musik for solo flute, small orchestra, and tape

“Music only takes place at the borderlines. There is nothing in the middle that could be of interest to art,” Heinz Holliger believes. Which is why he has always been fascinated by artists in crisis: border crossers on the fringes of society who have been classified as “crazy” and shipped off to the insane asylum. For Holliger, however, they “simply have many more antennae.” Thus, in his Turm-Musik (“Tower Music”), a central part of his Scardanelli cycle written over a period of 16 years, he intensively explored Friedrich Hölderlin and his late poems, which were always signed with the pseudonym Scardanelli. Hölderlin (who is said to have been a good flutist) wrote them during the 37 years of his life that he spent as “incurably mentally ill” in the seclusion of a tower in Tübingen. Ostinato funebre, which is also part of the Scardanelli cycle, at the same time pays homage to another artist: here Holliger quotes, paraphrases, distorts, and overwrites Mozart’s Masonic Funeral Music. In addition, the Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra premieres two scores that were created as part of the Roche Young Commissions series. 

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Traho : full orchestra (2021) by Kirsten Milenko — World premiere
— performed by Lin Liao and Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra
 Logos by Alex Vaughan — World premiere

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login