Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

MSO: Copland, Stanhope, Stravinsky


MSO: Copland, Stanhope, Stravinsky

  • Date: Thursday, 6 June 2013 to Friday, 7 June 2013, 8pm
  • Venue: Hamer Hall — Victorian Arts Centre, 100 St Kilda Rd, Southbank, VIC
  • Tickets: $55-$150

Event Details

Copland Appalachian Spring: Suite (original version)
Copland Eight Poems of Emily Dickinson
Stanhope Piccolo Concerto* WORLD PREMIERE
Stravinsky The Firebird: Suite (1919)

Benjamin Northey conductor
Emma Matthews soprano
Andrew Macleod piccolo

Two landmark scores from the world of ballet frame this program. Appalachian Spring defines the American spirit in music, and includes Copland’s sublime setting of the Shaker theme Simple Gifts, while Stravinsky’s suite from The Firebird is a magic carpet of orchestral colour.

The world premiere of the program, Paul Stanhope's Piccolo Concerto, has been commissioned by Symphony Services International on behalf of the Melbourne, Adelaide and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras.

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Concerto for piccolo flute and orchestra (piccolo with full orchestra) (2013) by Paul Stanhope — World premiere
— performed by Andrew Macleod, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Benjamin Northey

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login