Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and wearing a mask, and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

No Strings Attached


No Strings Attached

  • Date: Saturday, 27 April 2019, 8pm
  • Venue: Sir John Clancy Auditorium — University of New South Wales, Gate 9, High Street, Kensington, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: $55 | Children: $33 | Concession: $33 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 0293 854 874

Event Details

The wonderful colours and personalities of wind instruments are brought to the fore here, celebrating some of the finest chamber music for woodwind combinations. With pianist Ian Munro, we begin with Mozart’s Quintet for Winds and Piano – a work which the composer regarded as one of his finest – before exploring the quirkier territory of Martin Wesley-Smith’s Janet (named after a pet goat!) for flute, percussion and piano. Poulenc’s capricious Sextet for Winds and Piano is variously inspired by Mozart’s classicism through to Parisian café music. György Ligeti’s Bagatelles for Wind Quintet are captivating miniature essays full of intellect and creative wit, while the grand romanticism of Ludwig Thuille’s Sextet for Winds and Piano rounds off this fascinating musical journey, with not a string instrument in sight!

Performers: Ian Munro, piano; Geoffrey Collins, flute and David Griffiths, clarinet with guest artists Shefali Pryor, oboe; Lyndon Watts, bassoon; Robert Johnson, horn; and Alison Pratt, percussion

Featured non-Australian music: MOZART Quintet in E Flat K452, POULENC Sextet, LIGETI Bagatelles, THUILLE Sextet

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0293 854 874 or by email to australia.ensemble@unsw.edu.au

Featured Australian Works

Janet : trio incl. flute (1995) by Martin Wesley-Smith
— performed by Alison Pratt, Ian Munro and Geoffrey Collins

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login