Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.




  • Date: Sunday, 20 March 2016, 3pm
  • Venue: The Q - Queanbeyan Performing Arts Centre — 253 Crawford St, Queanbeyan, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: $35 | Children: $15 | Concession: $30 — Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

The National Capital Orchestra is proud to launch their 2016 Australian Series in this concert featuring renowned guitarist Matt Withers. Opening with Nigel Westlake’s Antarctica Suite, one of the most-loved contemporary pieces for guitar and orchestra, the standard is set high from the very first note. Matched with none other than Rodrigo’s timeless Concierto de Aranjuez, the orchestra weaves continents together with lyrical melodies fitting of this passionate program. Matt Withers’ virtuosity is displayed throughout the joyous lilt of Westlake’s Penguin Dances and the sublime imagery of Rodrigo’s iconic Adagio movement, as he moves seamlessly between two expressive and unique highlights of the guitar repertoire.

Concluding the program is César Franck’s Symphony in D Minor, one of the most treasured symphonies of the late Romantic period. Exploring the boundaries of chromatic harmony, César Franck builds an exquisite sense of contrast between adventure, and a passionate sense of raw emotion, culminating in one of the most triumphant finales ever composed.

Conducted by Musical Director Leonard Weiss, himself an ACT Finalist for Young Australian of the Year 2016, this opening to the National Capital Orchestra’s 2016 Australian Series is not to be missed!

More Information nco.org.au

ABC Classics artist Matt Withers is an internationally acclaimed classical guitar performer who forms part of Australia’s premier guitar quartet Guitar Trek, headed by world-renowned classical guitarist Timothy Kain. Matt has performed with celebrated musicians including William Barton and the Carl Pini String Quartet as well as featured at numerous Guitar Festivals across the globe. In March 2015, Matt toured a solo program across New Zealand in partnership with Universities and Guitar Societies. In 2014, he was invited to perform concerts in France and to provide master classes at the renowned Uppsala International Guitar Festival in Sweden. Matt’s passion to support emerging classical music and other young artists has also driven him to create the Matt Withers Young Australian Music Composition Competition to give an avenue of support for emerging Australian composers. Tertiary music students from across the country have taken advantage of this opportunity.


Featured non-Australian music: J. Rodrigo: Concertio de Aranjuez, C. Franck: Symphony in Dmin

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 6285 6290 or by email to boxoffice.adminassistant@qcc.nsw.gov.au

Featured Australian Works

Antarctica : suite for guitar & orchestra (1992) by Nigel Westlake
— performed by Leonard Weiss, National Capital Orchestra and Matthew Withers

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login