Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.

PLACE: Concert 3


PLACE: Concert 3

  • Date: Saturday, 18 March 2017 to Sunday, 19 March 2017, 3pm
  • Venue: Articulate (gallery) — 497 Parramatta Rd, Leichhardt, NSW
  • Series: This event is part of the PLACE: Exhibition and performances series
  • Tickets: Adults: $20 adults | Student, concession: $15

Event Details


composer: Ursula Caporali | cello: Julia Ryder

musicians: Margery Smith, Alexandra Spence, Ros Dunlop, Julia Ryder, Otopsy Klamar, Hollis Taylor

artist: Peter Smith | composer: Margery Smith | cello: Julia Ryder | clarinet: Ros Dunlop


Gallery Exhibition:

Open: 11am - 5pm Fri - Sun, 4-19 March 2017.

P L A C E explores the connections between sound, place, time and identity through visual and sound worlds.

P L A C E  is a collaborative installation and music series organised by Ros Dunlop, that explores the visual and sound worlds of landscape, identity, indigenous roots, and the world of space and time of acoustic and artificial sound, both prepared and improvised.

P L A C E  delves into a synesthetic fusion of sound and visual, and the possibilities of each enhancing the imaginative and emotional connection to the other. Soundscapes are translated into sculptural landscapes. Visceral feelings and thoughts are expressed through both visual and musical lines, shapes and layers.

Developing over the course of the exhibition period, the first week will be dedicated to "open studio" installation and experimentation between collaborators, followed by live performances, within the installation, of music both written and improvised. As the musicians perform each composition, the audience will be physically led through the space and a new part of the installation, a new world or landscape, revealed.


Composers: Corrina Bonshek, Brigid Burke, Ursula Caporali, Stephen Ingham, Margery Smith, Hollis Taylor and Felicity Wilcox.

Musicians: Ananias Carlos (Otopsy Klamar), Ros Dunlop - clarinet/bass clarinet, Julia Ryder - cello, Margery Smith - clarinet/saxophone and Hollis Taylor - violin.

Visual/sound Artists: Brigid Burke, Nathalie Hartog-Gautier, Penelope Lee, Holly Ryder-Ingham, Alfeo Sanches-Pereira, Peter Smith, Alexandra Spence and Rachel Jones.


artists: Penelope Lee & Nathalie Hartog-Gautier
composer: Margery Smith, Liz Smith | musician: Ros Dunlop (bass clarinet).

composer: Stephen Ingham | artist: Holly Ingham

sound artist: Alex Spence

artist: Alfeo Sanches-Pereira | musician: Topsy Klamar

artist: Peter Smith | composer: Margery Smith | musicians: Julia Ryder (cello) & Ros Dunlop (clarinet)

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by email to etalucitra@gmail.com

Featured Australian Works

Poppy (duos: clarinet, cello) by Margery Smith
— performed by Julia Ryder and Ros Dunlop

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login