Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Seymour Nights | Ensemble Offspring - Slipstream [postponed]


Seymour Nights | Ensemble Offspring - Slipstream [postponed]

  • Date: Saturday, 26 June 2021, 8pm
  • Venue: The Sound Lounge — Seymour Theatre Centre, Cnr City Rd and Cleveland St, Chippendale, NSW
  • Series: This event is part of the Seymour Nights 2021 series
  • Tickets: Adults: $25 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 9061 5344

Event Details

This event has been postponed due to the worsened Covid-19 situation in NSW. A new date to be advised.


In this program we join forces on a new work by Perth composer Simon Charles commissioned last year as part of our Hatched HOME Academy in 2020, providing new opportunities for artists during COVID – as well as Bitter Springs Creek 2014 by Hollis Taylor and Jon Rose which celebrates the duelling calls of the pied butcher birds of central Australia.

Four of our core musicians shine as soloists with a classic from Kaija Saariaho, a new piece from emerging composer Johannes MacDonald alongside world premieres from local ladies Melody Eötvös, Bree van Reyk and Alice Humphries.

Come and bask in our slipstream, a visual and sonic wonderland for the senses.


Johannes MacDonald – The Sun is Coming (a warning from Ra) (contrabass clarinet solo) (2021) 12

Melody EötvösAntumbra (vibraphone, glockenspiel + electronics) 6′ WP

Bree van ReykSlipstream (vibraphone + balls) 6’ WP

Hollis Taylor/Jon RoseBitter Springs Creek 2014 (flute, clarinet, vibraphone + tape) 9’

Alice HumphriesStep 4’30

Kaija Saariaho Sept Papillons 11’

Simon CharlesHatched Home Academy Quartet (flute, clarinet, percussion, cello) 10’ WP

Featured non-Australian music: Gerard Grisey, Kaija Saariaho

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Digital sheet music sample Antumbra : for percussion and fixed audio (2022) by Melody Eötvös
— performed by Ensemble Offspring
Bitter Springs Creek 2014 (trios: flute, clarinet, vibraphone) (2019) by Hollis Taylor and Jon Rose
— performed by Ensemble Offspring
Slipstreams : for vibraphone (2021) by Bree van Reyk — World premiere
— performed by Ensemble Offspring
Step : cello solo by Alice Humphries
— performed by Ensemble Offspring
 Hatched Home Academy Quartet (2021) by Simon Charles — World premiere
 The Sun is Coming (a warning from Ra) (2021) by Johannes MacDonald

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login