Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Steel City Strings


Steel City Strings

  • Date: Saturday, 28 October 2017, 7:30pm
  • Venue: Wollongong Art Gallery — Cnr of Kembla St and Burelli St, Wollongong, NSW
  • Tickets: Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

As part of their 'Music Through the Ages' concert, Steel City Strings is proud to present the world premiere of Sleep for string orchestra, composed by Andrew Ford.  Sleep began in 2012 as a piece for three soprano voices in a setting of the poem Sleep by David McCooey, written in 2011. The composer writes, “the original a cappella setting presents the whole poem three times, the words coming more clearly into focus on each occasion.  In turning it into a piece for string orchestra, I tried to preserve as much of the sound and sense of the missing words as possible in the articulation of the melodic lines.”

Featured non-Australian music: Locatelli, Mozart, Debussy, Nielsen

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by email to steelcitystrings@gmail.com

Featured Australian Works

Sleep : for string orchestra (2015) by Andrew Ford
— performed by Luke Spicer and Steel City Strings

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login