Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

String Serenade with Gold Coast Chamber Orchestra


String Serenade with Gold Coast Chamber Orchestra

  • Date: Sunday, 9 October 2016, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
  • Venue: Leneen Forde Chancellery G40 (level 2) — Griffith University, Gold Coast Campus, Southport, QLD
  • Tickets: Adult: $30 (at the door), $25 (online) | Concession: $25 (at the door), $22 (online) — Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

Featuring Soloists
Nigel Bardsley (Violin)
Iris Doo (Viola)

And introducing Camillio Manricks – Conductor!

2016 has been very busy but a super exciting year with six performances so far. Collaborating with the prestigious Orava Quartet and also performing in this year’s Classic Music Festival in conjunction with 4MBS has been a highlight and most enjoyable.

A little tour of concerts in our 4mbs series at Ashmore, Tweed Heads, Cleveland and Maleny received an overwhelming response from our audience.

We’re pleased to annouce that soloist Louise King on cello will perform with GCCO once more for this series.

We are delighted to have Griffith University, Gold Coast Campus ( Leneen Forde Chancellery G40) hosting Gold Coast Chamber Orchestra for their final concert in 2016!

Works by Felix Mendelssohn, Betty Beath, Bela Bartok and Dag Wirin will be showcased and the Suite for violin, viola and string orchestra by Kurt Atterberg will be a highlight with soloists Nigel Bardsley (violin) and Iris Doo (viola).

Edvard Grieg – Holberg Suite for Strings
Betty Beath – Adagio for Strings “Lament for Kosovo”
Bela Bartok – Rumanian Folk Dances
Kurt Atterberg – Suite for Violin, Viola and String Orchestra – Soloists Nigel Bardsley (Violin) & Iris Doo (Viola)
Dag Wiren – Serenade for Strings

Featured non-Australian music: Grieg, Bartok, Kurt Atterberg, Dag Wiren

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 0418 116 610 or by email to gccoinfo@gcco.com.au

Featured Australian Works

Adagio for strings, lament for Kosovo : string orchestra (1999) by Betty Beath
— performed by Camillio Manricks and Gold Coast Chamber Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login