Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Sydney Con Sax Orchestra: Beaugeais, Glass, Matitia and more...


Sydney Con Sax Orchestra: Beaugeais, Glass, Matitia and more...

  • Date: Wednesday, 3 November 2010, 1:10 pm
  • Venue: Verbrugghen Hall — Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Cnr Macquarie St and Bridge St, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: This is a free event

Event Details

An exciting and unique program featuring three world premieres by Australian and international composers.

Drifting Memories by Australian composer & saxophonist, Katia Beaugeais, was first written for saxophone quartet and has been specially arranged for this premiere performance by the Sydney Conservatorium saxophone orchestra consisting of 12 saxophones. Drifting Memories takes you on a journey encompassing both pleasant and unpleasant memories. The pitch material gradually unfolds by drifting ‘in and out’ of each section. Extended techniques are used in a variety of textures and timbres to enhance the gradual progression from a static, calm quality to a fast and frenetic, complex web of pulsating rhythmic figures, ending with piercing harmonic glissando effects. Multiphonics, air sounds, key clicks, vibrato, flutter-tongue, slap-tongue, glissando and quarter-tone colour trills are a main feature of this piece.

Other international works by Philip Glass, Nigel Wood, Inara George, Greg Kurstin, Frankie Sullivan, Jim Peterik and Jean Matitia will also be performed.

Featured non-Australian music: Philip Glass - 'Wind Catcher', Nigel Wood - 'Where Spirits & Demons Dance', Inara George & Greg Kurstin - 'Meteor' arr by Danny Fratina (WP), Frankie Sullivan & Jim Peterik - 'Eye of the Tiger' arr. by Bernard Lagana (WP), Jean Matitia - 'The Devil's Rag'

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 9351 1222 or by email to conconcerts@usyd.edu.au

Featured Australian Works

Drifting Memories by Katia Beaugeais — World premiere
— performed by Michael Duke and Sydney Conservatorium of Music Saxophone Orchestra

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login