Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Taikoz: The Beauty of 8


Taikoz: The Beauty of 8

  • Date: Friday, 23 October 2015 to Saturday, 24 October 2015, 8:00pm
  • Venue: Seymour Centre — Cnr City Rd and Cleveland St, Chippendale, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: $50-$70 | Children: $30 school | Concession: $40-$50 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 9351 7940

Event Details

The Beauty of 8 will leave you breathless!! For two nights only, Australia’s internationally acclaimed drumming ensemble Taikoz, perform alongside world renowned taiko player and Kodo principal dancer Chieko Kojima, and shakuhachi Grandmaster Riley Lee. Infectious rhythms, soaring melodies, lavish costumes, huge drums and Taikoz’s legendary power and precision, interwoven with Chieko’s graceful yet powerful dance, deliver a spectacular performance never seen before on the world stage.

The Beauty of 8 explores the many expressive qualities of the taiko, contrasting masculine and feminine, extrovert and introvert, tradition and innovation. The title refers to the mesmerising shapes and movements that are synonymous with the yokouchi (side-on) style of taiko playing. Guest artist Chieko Kojima’s mastery of the style – not to mention her own personal artistry – brings a level of sophistication and expressiveness that is not only beguiling, but also deeply spiritual. Trained as a dancer, Chieko seamlessly combines her love of movement, sound and rhythm into a performance that begs the question: Is it drumming? Is it dance? Framed within a program of new music composed by Taikoz, The Beauty Of 8 is a stunning collaboration that highlights the artists’ inner intensity, beauty of expression and synchronicity of sound and movement.

Performers: Taikoz, international guest artist Kodo Distinguished Member Chieko Kojima and shakuhachi Grand Master Riley Lee. Taikoz Ensemble Members: Ian Cleworth (AD), Kerryn Joyce, Kevin Man, Anton Lock, Tom Royce-Hampton, Sophia Ang and Ryuji Hamada.

Featured non-Australian music: 'Hana Hachijo' Traditional. Arranged Chieko Kojima

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 9663 5532 or by email to kathy@synergyandtaikoz.com

Featured Australian Works

 'Become', 'Rhythm River' by Anton Lock
 'Cascading Waterfall' by Riley Lee, Ian & John Cleworth
 'Drifting' by Riley Lee, Ian Cleworth
 'Horizon' by Ian & John Cleworth — Australian premiere
 'Morf', 'Pearl' by Ian Cleworth
 'Ulysses', 'These Tested our Horizon', 'Is Not a White Bird Forlorn?' by John Cleworth — Australian premiere

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login