Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Transfigured Night


Transfigured Night

  • Date: Saturday, 19 March 2016, 8pm
  • Venue: Sir John Clancy Auditorium — University of New South Wales, Gate 9, High Street, Kensington, NSW
  • Series: This event is part of the Australia Ensemble 2016 Subscription Series series
  • Tickets: Adult: $50 | Senior: $38 | Concession: $30 | Student rush (from 7:30pm on the performance day): $15

Event Details

Joaquín TURINA (1882-1949): Circulo Op.91 (1942)

Don BANKS (1923-1980): Prologue, Night Piece and Blues for Two (1968)

Luigi DALLAPICCOLA (1904-1975): Piccola musica notturna (1954)

Ravi SHANKAR (1920-2012): L'Aube Enchantée (The Enchanted Dawn) (1976)

Franz SCHUBERT (1797-1828): Notturno D897 in E flat Op.148 (c.1827)

Arnold SCHOENBERG (1874-1951): Verklärte Nacht Op.4 (Transfigured Night) (1899)

 Guest artists: Alice Giles, harp

Arnold Schoenberg’s masterful string sextet Verkärte Nacht (Transfigured Night) is an early work reflecting this composer’s interest and mastery of late Romantic musical idioms. Inspired by a poem of the expressionist poet, Richard Dehmel, it is notable for its restless expression of highly emotional states in a musical language that would soon make way for a radical departure in style. It is a sumptuous work in a program devoted to illustrations of contrasts between day and night, beginning with Joaquín Turina’s Circulo suggesting the cyclical aspects of a day passing into night. We move from Australian composer Don Banks’ quirky jazz-inflected modernism through to the masterful Indian sitar player and composer, Ravi Shankar’s L’Aube Enchantée (The Enchanted Dawn), via the atmospheric impressions of night by Dallapiccola and Schubert.

Featured non-Australian music: Turina, Dallapiccola, Shankar, Schubert, Schoenberg

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 9385 4874 or by email to australia.ensemble@unsw.edu.au

Featured Australian Works

Prologue, Night piece and Blues for two : for clarinet (B flat) and piano (1968) by Don Banks
— performed by Australia Ensemble

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login