Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Willoughby Symphony : Bohemian Tango


Willoughby Symphony : Bohemian Tango

  • Date: Saturday, 27 June 2015 to Sunday, 28 June 2015, 7pm (Sat), 2pm (Sun)
  • Venue: The Concourse, Chatswood — 409 Victoria Avenue, Chatswood, NSW
  • Tickets: Tickets can be purchased online

Event Details

Elena Kats-Chernin: Recollecting ASTORoids
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K. 467
Dvorak: Symphony No. 6 in D major, op. 60

This fascinating program features the gorgeous music of Willoughby Symphony Orchestra’s 2015 Composer-in-Residence, Elena Kats-Chernin. Inspired by the soulful music of Astor Piazzolla, her sensational orchestral work Recollecting ASTORoids miraculously transforms a symphony orchestra into a giant tango band; a work that needs to be experienced to be believed.

This concert also features the accomplished Australian pianist Kristian Chong, performing one of the most perfect piano concertos ever conceived, Mozart’s entrancing C Major Concerto, memorably featured in the film Elvira Madigan. Guest conductor Warwick Potter will finish the program with the expressive colours of Antonin Dvorak’s beautiful Sixth Symphony.

This stirring symphonic masterwork is powerfully emotive and wonderfully evocative; prepare to have your spirits lifted by the dazzling orchestral writing and heart-throbbing brass section of the Willoughby Symphony Orchestra.

Featured non-Australian music: Mozart, Dvorak

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login