Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Young Composers Project : part of the ASME 2015 conference


Young Composers Project : part of the ASME 2015 conference

  • Date: Friday, 2 October 2015, 1:30pm - 3pm
  • Venue: ANZAC Hall, Prince Alfred College — 23 Dequetteville Terrace, Kent Town, SA
  • Tickets: Adult: $10 | Concession: $5 - tickets available at the door

Event Details

The long running Young Composers Project is part of the ASME 2015 conference.

The Young Composers Project composer-in-residence is Dr Anne Cawrse who has been commissioned to write a composition for string quartet to be performed at the conference by the renowned Australian String Quartet.

For the Young Composers Project, a young composer (around 18-20 years of age) is selected from each state chapter of ASME. The selected composers will attend the conference and have a program of workshop sessions and rehearsals with Anne Cawrse. The ensemble for which the Young Composers are to write is string quartet (violin 1, violin 2, viola and cello). We are delighted that the renowned Australian String Quartet will rehearse and perform the commissioned work and the young composer works.

The state representatives for the 2015 Young Composers Project are:

New South Wales - Josh Pak
Queensland - Grant Kynaston
South Australia - Charles Wood
Tasmania - Rhys Gray
Victoria - Nikki Edgar
Western Australia - Holly Broadbent


Anne Cawrse (b. 1981) is an Adelaide-based composer and teacher. She gained her PhD in Music Composition in 2008, from the University of Adelaide under the supervision of Professor Graeme Koehne. Her works have been performed both in Australia and overseas by artists and ensembles including the Melbourne and Adelaide Symphony Orchestras, the Elder Conservatorium Chamber and Symphony Orchestras, the Zephyr Quartet, the Adelaide Chamber Singers, Eve Vocal Trio, Musica da Camera, the Kegelstatt Ensemble, sopranos Greta Bradman and Emma Horwood, pianist Leigh Harrold, guitarist Aleksandr Tsiboulski and cellist Hilary Kleinig.

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (03) 9254 1000 or by email to asme.adelaide.2015@gmail.com

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login