Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Bossa Eyes


Bossa Eyes / Emma Sidney

  • Published by Move Records [MD3335] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

Laid back jazz vocals float beautifully over bossa and samba rhythms. This unusual mix is inspired by the work of Brazilian artist Antonio Carlos Jobim. The result is an acoustically spacious album which seduces the senses with a mix of familiar and new material.

Recording started in 2007. The project has since undergone amazing and loving transformations with the expertise of producer Paul Boath, musical director Todd Sidney and the team at Move Records.

The raw inspiration of acoustic Brazil and the brilliant talents of the likes of Bob Sedergreen feature on this 12 track disc, which flows effortlessly between original and reinterpretated compositions.

Composer Tom Jobim and his cohorts turned sex on the beach into sound (the 60s bossa nova) with a fusion of acoustic latin rhythms and laid back jazz improvisation. Picture a walk on the beach singing, the sea on a sunny summer afternoon while a sometimes unpredictable breeze plays over brown bodies and shining waves.

This album was inspired by that love, that moment in time recast into the new century.


Track Listing

1 Corner of the Earth J Kay / R Harris
2 Intersection Bob Sedergreen / Judy Jacques
3 Agua de Beber Vinicius de Moraes, Antonio Carlos Jobim, N Gimbel
4 Infant Eyes Wayne Shorter
5 Tangerine Johnny Mercer & Victor Schertzinger
6 Corcovado Antonio Carlos Jobim
7 Catching the Wave Emma Sidney
8 Man with the Child in his Eyes Kate Bush
9 Moonlight in Vermont K Suessdorf / J Blackburn
10 Telephone Song R Menescal / R Boscoli / N Gimbel
11 I Concentrate on You Cole Porter
12 Unforgettable Irving Gordon

Emma Sidney vocals
Leon Heale double bass
Todd Sidney piano all tracks except 1, 2, 4
Bob Sedergreen piano tracks 2, 4
Nic Lam guitar all tracks except 9
Denis Close Brazilian percussion all tracks except 6, 8, 9, 11

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login