Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Organ of the Antipodes


Organ of the Antipodes / Rhys Boak and Ryoko Mori

  • Published by Move Records [MCD315] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

Australian organist, Rhys Boak along with Japanese organist, Ryoko Mori, celebrate the 100th birthday of the George Fincham & son organ in the Malvern Presbyterian Church. The organ was one of the final organs built by the legendary George Fincham, the father of the Australian organ building industry and one of the nineteenth century's most prolific organ builders in the southern hemisphere. Contents of this CD include Louis Vierne's monumental but rarely preformed second organ symphony, completed in 1903 just 3 years before the construction of the organ in 1906. Also included is Samuel Wesley's 'Duet' for organ, the Toccata from Leon Boellman's 'Suite Gothique' and Haydn's 'surprise' symphony transcribed for the organ.

"This is a particularly attractive compilation which features two organists of considerable merit: Rhys Boak who works tirelessly to advance the cause of organ repertoire and the Japanese-born and - trained Ryoko Mori. In the first movement of Vierne's Symphonie No 2, Boak, like some musical Zeus, responds to the score by hurling great blocks of sound through the speakers. A softly bouncing scherzo is a pleasing contrast. There is much to savour here ranging from Mori's account of Leon Boellman's Toccata from the Suite Gothic to delights such as an arrangement for organ of the andante movement from Haydn's Symphony No 94 (The Surprise).

The latter, Haydn at his most droll, is pure delight - and the Boellman Toccata is an immensely dramatic opening track. With its massive waves of sound, it is an irresistible call to attention."
Neville Cohn, Oz Arts Review

Visit Ryoko's web page here.


Track Listing

1. Toccata from the Suite Gothique - Leon Boellman
2. Adagio from the Symphonie pour orgue, No. 3 Op 28 - Louis Vierne (1912)

Duet for Organ - Samuel Wesley

3. Allegro
4. Adagio
5. Fugue

Symphonie Pour orgue No. 2 Op 20 (1903)

6. Allegro
7. Choral
8. Scherzo
9. Cantabile
10. Final

11. Andante from Symphony No. 94 in G 'The Surprise'


Press Quotes

“I was pleased to see the subtitle of this CD: "Volume 1" of Organ of the Antipodes. May there be many more!”

— John Worcester, 3MBS FM Libretto

“The music is characterised by strong and sure playing”

— Walter Burnie, Australian Hi-Fi and home theatre

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login