Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.



Impromptu : a collection of Impromptus, Fantasies and Impressions for piano solo / Brian Chapman

  • Published by Move Records [MCD426] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

Although only two of the pieces presented in this collection carry the title Impromptu, many of the other works possess an improvisatory quality. Beethoven's simply constructed 'easy' sonata may well have been a written out improvisation that only became published years later when the composer realised that his encroaching deafness made his future more dependent on composition and publication than
on public performance. And we might fairly describe as 'doodling' the manner of commencement of Mozart's Fantasia in D minor, the two Spanish pieces and the first four of the Debussy selections.


Track Listing

SCHUBERT (1797-1828)
1. Impromptu in G flat, Op.90 No.3
2. Impromptu in A flat, Op.142 No.2

MOZART (1756-1791)
3. Fantasia in D minor, K.397
4. Minuet in D, K.355/576b

BEETHOVEN (1770-1827)
Sonata in G major, Op.49 No.2
5. Allegro, ma non troppo
6. Tempo di Minuetto
7. Minuet in G, WoO 10 No.2

Sonata quasi una fantasia in E flat, Op.27 No.1
8. Andante - Allegro - Tempo I
9. Allegro molto e vivace
10. Adagio con espressione
11. Allegro vivace - Tempo I - Presto

GRANADOS (1867-1917)
12. The Maiden and the Nightingale from Goyescas

ALBÉNIZ (1860-1909)
13. El Albaicin from Iberia Book III

DEBUSSY (1862-1918)
14. Clair de lune from Suite bergamasque Three Préludes from Book I
15. Footsteps in the snow
16. The girl with the flaxen hair
17. The engulfed cathedral
18. Gardens under rain from Estampes

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login