Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.



Monodies / La Romanesca

  • Published by Move Records [MD3044] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

Music from 12th and 13th century Spain. The major work is 'Siete Cantigas de Amigo ' by Martin Codax, these seven songs set in Vigo on the west coast of Spain tell of a woman waiting for her lover beside the sea. The disc also features four instrumental and vocal pieces by Marcabru and unknown composers. La Romanesca features four of Australia's leading early music exponents, Hartley Newnham (countertenor, percussion), Ruth Wilkinson (vielle, recorder), Ros Bandt (recorders, flute, psaltery, percussion) and John Griffiths (lute, guitarra morsica).


Track Listing

1 Istanpitta Ghaetta (anonymous, 14th century)
2 Lo vers comenssa (Marcabru, fl. 1127-1150)
3 Lo vers comens can vei del fau (Marcabru)
4 Saltarello (anonymous, 14th century)
5 L'autrier jost' una sebissa (Marcabru)
6 Bel m'es quant son li fruit madur (Marcabru)
7 Istanpitta Palamento (anonymous, 14th century)

Cantigas de amigo (Martin Codax, 13th century)
8 Ondas do mar de Vigo
9 Mandad' ei comigo
10 Mi–a irmana fremosa iredes comigo
11 Ay Deus, se sab' ora o meu amigo
12 Quantas sabedes amar amigo
13 Eno sagrado Vigo
14 Ay ondas que eu vin ver


Press Quotes

“A well-balanced recording of rare and unusual music.”

Australian Hi-Fi magazine

“The reconstructions of this music are truly haunting and sound right - the ultimate test”

— Sammy Breve, Australian Music Teacher Magazine

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login