Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Music of the Spanish Renaissance


Music of the Spanish Renaissance / La Compañia

  • Published by Move Records [MD3225] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

Featuring previously unreleased music heard in the ELIZABETH soundtrack!

La Compañia is set to broaden the horizons of early music in Australia with their exciting new CD, Music of the Spanish Renaissance. Featuring the expressive voice of soprano Vivien Hamilton and a variety of period instruments including cornetto, shawms, recorder, sackbuts, vihuela and percussion. Generously filled with seventeen tracks, this recording pays tribute to some of the great Spanish composers of the period and captures the joyful spirit of the 16th century minstrel band. The music is rhythmic, colourful, exciting and above all, spontaneous!


Track Listing

1. El Balenton de los Zielos (Diego de Pontac)
2. Oy, Joseph (Francisco Guerrero)
3. A un nino Ilorando (Guerrero)
4. El Fuego (Matheo Flecha the Elder)
5. Fantasia suela del quarto tono (Enríquuz de Valderrábano)
6. De Antequera sale el moro (Miguel de Fuenllana)
7. Hola Han pastorcillos (Dom Gabriel de s. Joã o)
8. Rodrigo Martinez (Anon.)
9. Si habrá en este baldres (Juan del Enzina)
10. Claros y frescos rios (Alonso Mudarra)
11. Si me Ilaman, a mi Ilaman (Mudarra)
12. Nino Dios d'amor herido (Guerrero)
13. Levanta, Pascual (Enzina)
14. Pero que seja a gente (Anon.)
15. Partístesos, mis amores (Enzina)
16. La Spagna (Heirich Isaac)
17. Hoy comamos y bebamos (Enzina)


Press Quotes

“The music is extremely attractive ... helps you set the scene of drums, sackbuts and cornetts ... The playing seems confident, assured and confident”

— Katherine Kemp, ABC 24 Hours

“an attractive mix ... the performances here are a constant elight ... a gem of a recording”

— Bill Hoffmann, Canberra Times

“A thumping good recording.”

— Madeleine Rowles, Early Music News, NSW

“a feast for the ears”

Sunday Herald Sun

“The appeal of the music is high ... the musical preparation is thorough and the recording well-balanced and forward.”

Sydney Morning Herald

“an excellent ensemble performing an unusual and beautiful repertoire ... I heartily recomment that you buy yourself a copy”

— Barnaby Ralph, Early Music Queensland

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login