Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Uttered Nonsense (The Owl and the Pussycat)


Uttered Nonsense (The Owl and the Pussycat) / John Sangster, Music - Edward Lear, words

  • Published by Move Records [MD3321] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

"Anyone lucky enough to have made music with John Sangster will likely refer to him as a creative genius. He certainly was that in my view and much more. His compositions, his humour and general attitude towards life were inspirational. This collection demonstrates all these qualities to be sure. It is a collectors item and one which will give great listening pleasure for a very long time." Tony Gould

Uttered nonsense (the Owl and the Pussycat), consists eight works of Mr Edward Lear, spoken with the utmost gravity by Mr Ivan Smith, and set to music of the most nonsensical nature by John Sangster.

These eight word-pieces embedded within fourteen more instrumental excursions which take their titles and their inspiration from the Nonsense Books of Edward Lear (the first published in 1846). The original double LP, was published in 1980 by Rainforest Records Australia (RF LP001). Closing the LP notes, John Sangster (1928-1995) wrote what he probably considered some sort of manifesto for Nonsense music:

"From the enjoyment of and love for [Edward Lear's] works comes the Uttered Nonsense. Nonsense-Music. Goodness knows there's not much of it about. Things being what they are nowadays. Nonsense-Music I guess should be at the same time provocative, silly, amusing, curious, thought-provoking, complex and direct, full of quotes and mis-quotes, puns, malapropism, musical spoonerisms, tight-ropes negotiated and bear-traps set up and then avoided, satisfying, adroit, nimble, fanciful, and above all entertaining and jolly."

The original Uttered Nonsense LP as reviewed by DJ Kinetic:

"Sangster's only double album outside of his 'Lord of the Rings' series, and a rather more ambitious effort. In the words of the album's cover: Eight works of Mr. Edward Lear, spoken with the utmost gravity by Mr. Ivan Smith, and set to music of the most nonsensical nature by John Sangster. That's what I mean when I saw ambitious! The music has Sangster's signature sparseness, reminiscent of his 'Lord of the Rings' albums, even 'Ahead of Hair', but with a much more Modern sound. Doug Gallagher's on drums and Tony Gould plays piano, and there's a long list of more notable jazz musicians on the inside cover. I really dig the funky vibes and sitar interplay on 'The Akond of Swat'. There's also a great breezy funk vibe on 'Incidents in the Life of Uncle Arly', before the poetry interrupts the mood. That's not always the case though. A great listen throughout."


Track Listing

CD one
1. Propter's Nicodemus Pills
2. The Owl and the Pussy-cat
3. The Akond of Swat
4. The Pobble Who Has No Toes
5. The Yonghy Bonghy Bo
6. The Heraldic Blazon of Foss the Cat
7. The Runcible Hat
8. The Jumblies
9. The Beautiful Pea Green Boat
10. Gosky Patties
11. Mr and Mrs Discobbolos

CD two
1. Incidents In the life oy My Uncle Arly
2. Phits of Coffin
3. The Cummerbund
4. The Pmblomphous Dolomphois Ptilinorhynchus
5. The Diaphanous Doorscraper
6. Mary Squeen of Cots
7. The Otion Blue
8. The Dong with a luminous nose
9. Learizing
10. The Quangle Wangle's Hat
11. The Co-Operative Cauliflower


Press Quotes

“On these CDs both he and John Sangster and his players seem to have made connections for everybody. Uttered Nonsense is a collector's item.”

— Margaret McNamara, 4MBS website

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login