Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Kodaly Missa Brevis


Kodaly Missa Brevis / The Choir of Ormond College directed by Douglas Lawrence

  • Published by Move Records [MD3201] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

Recorded on the choir's recent European tour, this CD features Kodály's magnificent 'Missa Brevis', Christopher Tye's 'Missa Euge Bone', Herbert Howells' 'Three Latin Church Motets' and Bach's motet for double choir 'Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit'.

Kodály's 'Missa Brevis', composed in the dark years of World War II, with its haunting melodies reflects both the horror of the period and Kodály's understanding of the capabilities of the voice. Soaring and penetratingly beautiful solos are combined with sections for the full choir to create drama and passion.

The 'Missa Brevis' was recorded in the stunning acoustics of the 17th century Martinskirche, near Lake Constance in Southern Germany with accompaniment provided by organist Thomas Heywood, on a wonderful new Rieger organ.

The Tye, Howells and Bach were recorded in the 15th century Santa Maria Bressanoro in Northern Italy.


Track Listing

Missa Euge Bone (Tye)
- Kyrie Octavi Toni
- Gloria
- Credo
- Sanctus et Benedictus
- Agnus Dei (four verses)

Three Latin Church Motets (Howells)
- Salve Regina
- Regina Coeli
- Nunc Dimitis

The motet for double choir Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf (J. S. Bach)
- Verse 1
- Verse 2
- Chorale

Missa Brevis (Kodaly)
- Introitus
- Kyrie
- Gloria
- Credo
- Sanctus
- Benedictus
- Agnus Dei
- Ite Missa est


Press Quotes

“Throughout this seldom recorded repertoire, the choir exhibits good intonation, particularly in the a capella works, and a real sense of artistry, bringing a crisp and precise style to bear on this often difficult music. Kodály's mighty 'Missa Brevis', composed in 1944, gives the choir ample opportunity to showcase its excellent solo singers.”

State of the Arts

“the highlight of the disc - a beautifully modulated and expressive performance of Bach's joyous motet 'Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit' ...With no reservations, this is a disc to delight lovers of fine choral singing.”

— Bill Hoffmann, The Canberra Times

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login