Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Piano village


Piano village : 25 piano solo pieces / Elena Kats-Chernin.

  • Published by Boosey & Hawkes/Bote & Bock, Berlin — 2016 [M202534090] — 1 score (103p. -- A4 (portrait))
  • Sales Availability: This item is not available to customers outside Australia.
  • Library Availability: 786.2/KAT 22 — Reference (not for loan) copy only


This item is not available to customers outside Australia.

Featured Australian works

  Work Composer
Adrift (2013) — solo piano
This edition: 14 Jul 13
Elena Kats-Chernin
Afterwards (2012) — solo piano
This edition: 2012
Elena Kats-Chernin
Amina (2011) — solo piano
This edition: 29 Aug 11
Elena Kats-Chernin
April code (2013) — solo piano
This edition: Apr 13
Elena Kats-Chernin
Autumn (2006) — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Black tie (2014) — solo piano
This edition: 23 Nov 14
Elena Kats-Chernin
Blue tears (2013) — solo piano
This edition: 9 Jul 13
Elena Kats-Chernin
Butterflying (2007) for solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Chorale (1999) — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Cocktail rag (2003) — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Dance of the Paper Umbrellas (2013) — solo piano
This edition: 2013
Elena Kats-Chernin
Eliza Aria (2007) — solo piano
This edition: 2007
Elena Kats-Chernin
Fast Blue Village (2007) for solo piano
This edition: 2007
Elena Kats-Chernin
Green leaf prelude (2002) — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Kate waltz (2009) — solo piano
This edition: 3 Mar 09
Elena Kats-Chernin
Lullaby for Nick (2012) — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Naive waltz (2008) — solo piano
This edition: 2008
Elena Kats-Chernin
The rain puzzle (2014) — solo piano
This edition: 2014
Elena Kats-Chernin
Revolving doors (2003) — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Russian rag (1996) — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Russian toccata (2013) — solo piano
This edition: 25 Feb 13
Elena Kats-Chernin
Second door on the left (2006) — solo piano
This edition: 2006
Elena Kats-Chernin
Slicked back tango — solo piano Elena Kats-Chernin
Waltz of things past (2011) — solo piano
This edition: Jul 11
Elena Kats-Chernin
Zerno (2015) — solo piano
This edition: 18 Jan 15
Elena Kats-Chernin

Product details

Elena Kats-Chernin has been writing piano music since she was a little girl. In Piano Village, a mixed collection of pieces of up to five minutes, there are works from intermediate level to advanced and ranging in mood, theme and texture with the warmth, energy and vivacity that her fans will have come to expect.

Some titles like Autumn, Blue Tears and Zerno are more reflective, Russian Toccata and Dance of the Paper Umbrellas verge on the virtuosic, then there are works like Black Tie, Slicked Back Tango and Cocktail Rag which are best described as party pieces. The collection also includes Eliza Aria and Russian Rag, two of Elena’'s greatest hits.

In compiling this book, editor Tamara-Anna Cislowska has paid close attention to the interpretations of the composer herself, and has tried to give a detailed guide to dynamics, phrasing and articulation. Tempos are suggestions only and often include a broad range to cater for taste and ability.

As with all Kats-Chernin’'s music, these piano pieces are marked with her distinct sense of rhythm and harmony, originality and fun. All are suitable for public performance and will repay careful study and practice. The book contains twenty-five different works guaranteed to entertain, disarm and amuse.

Includes program notes.

ISBN: 9783793141051

ISMN: 9790202534090

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login