Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Razz suite III

Score & Part

The Razz suite III : for string quartet / Ann Carr-Boyd.

  • Published by Wirripang — July, 2012 [9790720126463] — 1 score 18p. -- A4 (portrait)) and 4 parts
  • Purchase Price: $48.18 (Usually ships in 1-4 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: 785.714/CAR 2 — Reference (not for loan) copy only


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-4 days

Shipping Info

Featured Australian works

  Work Composer
Fandango for Fifi (2008) for string quartet
This edition: 2012
Ann Carr-Boyd
Fluffy Boy (2008) — trios: 2 violins, viola
This edition: Feb 08
Ann Carr-Boyd
Prelude for Luigi (2008) — trios: 2 violins, cello
This edition: 2012
Ann Carr-Boyd
Prelude for Luigi (2007) for violin solo
This edition: 2007
Ann Carr-Boyd

Product details

The three pieces in this volume are collectively titled Razz Suite III and together with Razz Suite II make up the six pieces of the Razz Suite. The pieces in this volume are Prelude for Luigi - two versions - i) for solo violin, ii) for two violins and violoncello; Fluffy Boy - for two violins and viola; Fandango for Fifi - for two violins, viola and violoncello. All of these works are musical pictures of my cats.

Prelude for Luigi. Luigi was a majestic brown Burmese, so he appears in a work which has definite Baroque leanings. The two versions can be played alone, or the solo version followed by the trio version.

Fluffy Boy. Fluffy Boy is a very fluffy tabby cat with white socks and stomach - he loves being on stage and impersonating the Sugar Plum Fairy at his after school ballet classes. This is definitely a theatre piece and should be played to the hilt - violins and viola are invited to make the most of any and every expression mark. Pauses can be lengthened and accents exaggerated. Performers in this piece should do their own thing.

Fandango for Fifi. Fifi was a ginger-point Burmese and a dominant member of the household. The opening sections of this Fandango are bright and very rhythmic - contrasting with the rather wistful middle section which should be played with a much gentler feel, emphasizing the blue notes in the scale. The middle section is marked 'con sord.', however the members of the Quartet may decide if one or all instruments should be played with mute on. This is an arrangement of the original Fandango for mandolin ensemble, composed for the Sydney Mandolins. There are now at least seven arrangements of Fandango for various ensembles - and still counting.

Includes program notes and composer biography.

ISMN: 979 0 720126 46 3

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login