Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Symphony No. 2 : the Flinders Ranges, South Australia

by Robert Allworth (2007)

Symphony No. 2


Add to cart


Symphony No. 2 : the Flinders Ranges, South Australia / Robert Allworth.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/ALL 3 [Available for loan]

Symphony No. 2

Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

Symphony No. 2 was composed in response to my increasing interest in the Symphony of Anton Webern. Although I have in no way copied the Webern style, there are some similarities between the 2 works. e.g. the duration of only 11 minutes and the intellectual approach. The work is derived from a note row of E D A B C C# F# F E G A B. This row is often used in groups of four, especially in harmony. The symphony also uses more counterpoint than any of my previous compositions. It is a companion piece to my earlier Symphony No. 1 which was written for The Sydney Mandolins in 1986.

The vast Flinders Ranges has been officially recognised as one of Australia's first National Landscapes. This work depicts the rugged landscape of this region.

Work Details

Year: 2007

Instrumentation: 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B flat, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, percussion (1 player), strings.

Duration: 11 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Mary Saint MacKillop


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.