Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.



by Andrew Batterham (2015)

Score Sample

View a sample of the score of this work
This sample is from the Brass band version of this work

Versions of this work

Select from the following versions of this work to view more detailed information:

- Brass band

- Euphonium with piano

Products featuring this work

Format Title Version AMC Library Price  


Homeland : Original Australian Euphonium Repertoire / Dr Matthew van Emmerik.

Euphonium with piano Not for loan $POA  

Score & Part [ePDF]

Caprice : for solo euphonium and brass band [eScore] / Andrew Batterham.

Brass band Not for loan $POA  

Score & Part [ePDF]

Caprice : for euphonium and piano [eScore] / Andrew Batterham.

Euphonium with piano Not for loan $POA  

Work Overview

Caprice was written for Matthew van Emmerik, to showcase his virtuosity in an engaging piece of concert music. It is in theme and variation form, with the primary material being the theme from the last of Paganini's Ventiquattro Capricci per violino solo, a collection of 24 caprices for solo violin. This theme has been the inspiration for similar works by many composers since it was first published, including Liszt, Brahms, Rachmaninov, Benny Goodman and Andrew Lloyd Webber.

In this work, the famous theme is treated to a more contemporary approach. The first variation, Capricious, relies on motor rhythms and jagged dialogues between the soloist and the band. It is couched in an organic scale reminiscent of the Phrygian mode. The second variation, Sad, is in direct contrast, acting as a traditional ballad and allowing the soloist to explore the expressive side of the instrument.

The third variation, Energetic, is a micro set of variations in itself, designed to display the soloist's innovative technique and stamina. Each section is more challenging than the last, until the work concludes with a whirlwind dance at breakneck speed. Like all of Batterham's recent work, the musical language of Caprice draws upon classical, jazz, funk and ska elements to create a unique sound where anything can happen, and probably will.

Work Details

Year: 2015

Duration: 10 min.


Caprice : for solo euphonium and brass band


Performances of this work

1 Aug 19: 40th Lieksa Brass Week in Likesa, Finland. Featuring Fletcher Mitchell, Mark Hilpo.

4 Jun 16: ITEC conference - University of Tenessee, Knoxville - Cox Auditorium. Featuring James Gourlay, Matthew van Emmerik, River City Brass Band.

26 Jan 16: Iwaki Auditorium, Melbourne. Featuring Victoria Brass, Matthew van Emmerik, Mark Ford.

2015: Hong Kong. Featuring Matthew van Emmerik.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.