Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Lagu lagu manis II : chamber orchestra

by Betty Beath (1994)

persistence of memory


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Work Overview

Lagu Lagu Manis 2, in translation Sweet Melodies 2, is a work influenced by the memory of melodies I heard during journeys to Java and Bali. I did not attempt to notate particular melodies, but rather to draw upon various fragments which lingered in the mind years after the actual experience of hearing the subtle, sometimes exuberant melodies which, originally, were often played on the suling (a bamboo flute), or sometimes in gamelan performance.

Tonally Lagu Lagu Manis 2 is based on the pelog scale; but when considering an analysis of the work, I refer to the Balinese approach to music. In the words of a distinguished Balinese musician, the late Cokorde Agung Mas of Ubud: "the music must enter the heart and mind of the musician". I acknowledge with respect that, over time, the content of this work entered my heart and mind, allowing an intuitive response in the writing of the work.

Work Details

Year: 1994

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in B flat, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, timpani, percussion and strings. 

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra

Commission note: Commissioned by Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra.

First performance: by Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra, Graham Abbott — 5 Nov 94. Australian Played Series, in the Basil Jones Theatre, Brisbane


Lagu lagu manis by Betty Beath

Graha Bhakti Budaya, TIM Arts Center, Jakarta August 31st, 2017 at 7.30 p.m. a concert, a gift from the Australian Embassy to the people of Indonesia celebrating their Independence Month. Ananda Sukarlan Orchestra, conducted by Ananda Sukarlan . The other works performed were Peter Sculthorpe's Small Town and Ananda Sukarlan (world premiere) The Voyage to Marege', for didgeridoo, flute concertante & orchestra. Djakapurra Manyurryun (didgeridoo) and Carmen Caballero (flute).


Performances of this work

31 Aug 2017: at The Voyage to Marege' (Teater Jakarta, Taman Ismail Marzuki (TIM)). Featuring Ananda Sukarlan.

5 Nov 94: Australian Played Series, in the Basil Jones Theatre, Brisbane. Featuring Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra, Graham Abbott.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.