Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


History : for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano

by Angus Davison (2022)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

History provides a brief, non-exhaustive chronology of Western Classical Music. Beginning with reflective plainsong, the first half of the work gains movement as it progresses through renaissance, baroque, classical, and romantic styles. The remaining four minutes progress from late romanticism to the intensity of twentieth century modernism, emerging into driving minimalism and post-minimalism. A short coda summarises the journey of the piece and comes to a thumping conclusion.

More often than not, styles are conveyed through allusion rather than direct imitation. When composing this work, I attempted to inhabit each genre, writing music that was true to my own tastes and biases. My intention was never to compose a series of historically perfect episodes, but to create one flowing and cohesive work that I found emotionally and intellectually meaningful. History was composed for the Australia Ensemble as part of the 2022-23 Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship.

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: Flute, clarinet in B flat, violin, viola, cello, piano.

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Australia Ensemble.. Commissioned by the Australia Ensemble as part of the 2022-23 Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship.

The composer ntoes the following styles, genres, influences, etc in relation to this work:
Polystylism, medieval, baroque, classical, romantic, modernist, minimalist, post-minimalist, process music


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.